NDLEA Apprehends Single Mother OfFour With 1.7kg Cocaine

A 51-year-old mother of four children has
been nabbed by operatives of the National
Drug Law Enforcement Agency (NDLEA) at
the Murtala Muhammed International Airport,
Ikeja, in Lagos State with 3.44kg of cocaine
and heroin hidden inside body cream.
The drugs were found in her possession
during the outward screening of passengers
on an Emirate flight bound for China.
The NDLEA Airport commander, Hamza
Umar, who confirmed the arrest, gave the
name of the suspect as Alade Muyinotu
Alade from Kwara State.
According to Hamza, “Alade Muyinotu was
caught with drugs at the central screening
area on her way to China. During a search,
150 wraps of cocaine weighing 1.725kg and
150 wraps of heroin weighing 1.715kg
concealed inside body cream were found
inside her luggage. The total weight of the
drugs was 3.44kg. The case is currently
under investigation”.
In her confessional statement, the suspect
said she was offered 4,000 dollars to
smuggle the drugs to China saying: “I used
to import clothes from Dubai and China when
my business was going on smoothly. I even
had a shop at Balogun market. My problem
started when I lost my shop and was unable
to rent another one. Since then things have
gone from bad to worse. My major concern
was that I have four children living with me
and I am separated from my husband. It was
a friend that introduced me to the people
that gave me the drugs. They bought my
return ticket and offered me 4,000 dollars”.
NDLEA Chairman, Ahmadu Giade described
the involvement of the suspect in drugs
smuggling as unfortunate.
His words: “China is one of the countries
with capital punishment for drug trafficking.
It is unfortunate for a mother of four children
to get involved in such a criminal act. If not
for our vigilance that led to her arrest, she
would have been killed abroad and her
children left to suffer endlessly”.
Alhaji Giade, while urging stakeholders to be
more dedicated to the country’s drug control
efforts, stressed that a drug-free society is a
crime-free society.
The suspect will soon be charged to court.

Leave a Reply

