Dayo D1 Adeneye Says He’s Not GoingInto Politics To Make Money

Showbiz mogul and political aspirant,
Dayo Adeneye popularly known as D1 has
said that he is not branching into politics
to fill his pockets but rather, to make a
change. D1 who aims to represent
Odogbolu Constituency at the Ogun State
House of Assembly come 2015 made this
known in an exclusive interview with
Punch. He said, “Anybody who knows my
antecedents will tell you that my real
interest has always been to serve this
country. I came back to Nigeria at a time
most people were planning to leave. I left
a plum job in the United States to
contribute my quota to the development
of the country through the private sector.
I became a part of the change that gave
birth to the African Independent
Television and Raypower FM radio
station. That was when nobody believed
in 24-hour broadcasting in Nigeria.
He argued that money has never been his
problem saying “Anybody who knows me
will testify that I made money when I was
young. I was a millionaire in my 20s. I
have built my houses. Kenny and I were
among the first people in Nigeria to own
Hummer Jeeps. We were also among the
first to own the latest models of the
Range Rover Sport Utility Vehicle. This is
not about boasting; I have made my
mark. I am not looking for money.
Everybody knows my pedigree. I am a
hardworking person and I have
businesses in communication and
hospitality.
“When Kenny Ogungbe and I came into
the entertainment industry, Fela
Anikulapo-Kuti was the highest paid
musician and he was collecting only
N25,000 per show. But, today, through
our efforts we have artistes like P-Square
and Tuface Idibia who are collecting
about N10m and more, per show. If we
did these things with our own funds,
imagine what we can do if given the
mandate to serve the people.
He also said that his campaign is funded
from his personal savings and he is not
begging any one out there for financial
assistance.

Leave a Reply

